Header Banner
Gadget Hacks Logo
Gadget Hacks
Apple
gadgethacks.mark.png
Gadget Hacks Shop Apple Guides Android Guides iPhone Guides Mac Guides Pixel Guides Samsung Guides Tweaks & Hacks Privacy & Security Productivity Hacks Movies & TV Smartphone Gaming Music & Audio Travel Tips Videography Tips Chat Apps
Home
Apple

macOS 27 Apple Intelligence Storage Space: Up to 30GB Used

macOS 27 Apple Intelligence Storage Space: Up to 30GB Used

Mac owners running macOS 27 "Golden Gate" are watching Apple Intelligence eat into their free storage well beyond the figures Apple lists in its own documentation, according to iThinkDiff, which compiled owner and tester storage readings last week. Reported figures range from about 14GB to over 30GB, against Apple's stated maximums of 8GB to 14GB. The gap in macOS 27 Apple Intelligence storage usage shows up in both pre-release beta and Release Candidate builds and in reports from Macs running the public release that went out on September 14.

Apple has not said why the numbers run this high, per iThinkDiff. Testers also report that macOS 27 no longer includes a visible toggle to turn Apple Intelligence off before it downloads its on-device models. Testers say the files download automatically the first time a Mac connects to the internet after updating. Anyone deciding whether to install macOS 27 right now should know what's confirmed, what's still unresolved, and how to check their own machine before drawing conclusions.

How much storage does Apple Intelligence use on Mac?

The following readings were compiled by iThinkDiff from owner and tester screenshots, not from an Apple benchmark or independent lab test. Treat every number below as reported, not verified.

Mac Build status Reported storage Expected tier (chip-based)
MacBook Air (M3) Beta 7 22.42GB Up to 14GB
Unspecified Mac Release Candidate 30.16GB Up to 14GB
Mac mini (M4 Pro) Not specified 20.67GB Up to 14GB
MacBook Pro (M3 Pro) Not specified 24.35GB Up to 14GB
MacBook Air (M1) Not specified About 14GB Up to 8GB
MacBook Neo Not specified About 14GB Up to 8GB

Apple's tiers are based on chip generation and unified memory, and iThinkDiff's reporting doesn't confirm the exact memory configuration for every Mac in the table above. Treat the "expected tier" column as a general grouping rather than a confirmed classification for each individual device.

That 30.16GB figure, the one behind the "up to 30GB" framing, came from a Release Candidate screenshot, a pre-release build that may not match what shipped on September 14. iThinkDiff's reporting doesn't specify whether the Mac mini and MacBook Pro readings came from the same public build, so those two numbers should be read as separate data points rather than a matched comparison. Worth noting too: the M1 MacBook Air and MacBook Neo, both supposedly capped at Apple's 8GB tier, reportedly landed closer to 14GB, so the overshoot isn't confined to higher-end configurations with more memory.

Six readings show a repeated pattern, not a controlled test. They don't establish a universal storage requirement for every macOS 27 Mac, and they don't prove Apple Intelligence alone accounts for every gigabyte the Storage panel logs under the macOS category.

What Apple's documentation says about macOS Golden Gate AI model storage

According to iThinkDiff's reporting on Apple's support documentation, Macs with an M3 chip or later and at least 12GB of unified memory are supposed to top out at 14GB of on-device Apple Intelligence storage. Every other Apple Intelligence-compatible Mac is listed at up to 8GB. iThinkDiff's report also names the larger on-device model tied to that higher tier as AFM 3 Core Advanced, per iThinkDiff.

Apple lists similar device-based tiers across its product lineup, running from 14GB on the newest iPhones down to 1.5GB on compatible Apple Watch models, per iThinkDiff. None of the reported Mac figures fit cleanly inside their assigned tier, and that pattern shows up across multiple chip generations rather than in a single outlier.

Which Macs are affected, and who can actually use the new AI features

macOS 27 requires Apple Silicon. Apple confirmed last year that macOS 26 Tahoe would be the final version to support Intel Macs, so this update runs on M1 chips and later only, per WIRED. Some of the more advanced Apple Intelligence modes, including improved Voice Mode, are limited to Macs with an M3 chip or newer and at least 12GB of RAM, which happens to be the same hardware line that defines Apple's 14GB storage tier.

Availability of the headline feature, Siri AI, is narrower than the storage story might suggest. Apple said in a September Newsroom announcement that Siri AI is rolling out in beta in English only, with support for French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, and Spanish expected in October, according to Apple Newsroom. WIRED reports that Siri AI won't be immediately available in the EU or China due to regulatory concerns, per WIRED.

That rollout schedule raises a separate, unresolved question. Apple says Siri AI requires a supported language and has regional limits, but the available reporting doesn't establish whether Macs in restricted regions or languages download a different set of model files or the same ones tied to the disputed storage figures.

For anyone watching a 256GB SSD, losing 20GB to 30GB before installing a single app or photo works out to roughly 8% to 12% of total capacity, per iThinkDiff. The entry-level Mac mini M6's base 256GB configuration uses soldered storage, so there's no swapping in a bigger drive later to compensate.

Why the storage gap isn't explained by cloud-based features

Apple's on-device Siri AI components don't fully account for the gap either. Apple confirms that Siri AI's system orchestrator taps the on-device Spotlight index and App Toolbox to work entirely on-device, according to Apple Newsroom. Apple has also announced natural-language tools for Shortcuts and Calendar, but its public material doesn't identify which local model files power those features, so connecting them directly to the disputed storage figures remains unconfirmed.

Apple describes Image Playground's photorealistic generation as running through Private Cloud Compute, while other Apple Intelligence components process on-device, per Apple Newsroom. That distinction doesn't explain the reported storage gap on its own. Apple has said some features, including image generation, carry daily usage limits because they rely on server models, but nothing in the available reporting shows whether separating cloud features from local ones would close the difference between Apple's 8GB and 14GB tiers and the 14GB to 30GB readings testers are seeing. Whether the Storage panel is counting a dedicated Apple Intelligence allocation, general macOS system files, or some mix of both is a question Apple hasn't addressed.

How to check your own Mac's Apple Intelligence storage

Open System Settings, go to General, then Storage, and click the info button next to "macOS" to see the current breakdown, per iThinkDiff. Before drawing conclusions from that number, write down your Mac's chip (M1, M2, M3, and so on), unified memory amount, and exact macOS build number. The readings above came from a mix of beta, Release Candidate, and public builds that produced different results, so a single number doesn't tell you much without that context attached.

Testers report the toggle to disable Apple Intelligence is gone in macOS 27, per iThinkDiff. Apple Intelligence itself stays optional to use even though the model files reportedly download regardless, so a Mac can show the disputed storage number even if its owner never opens Siri AI or any other AI feature.

Owners weighing whether to update should check their current macOS storage breakdown first, then check it again after the Mac connects and the files appear to have downloaded. Record the chip, memory tier, and build number alongside each reading. Until Apple explains what that Storage figure actually includes, or broader public-build data narrows things down, treat the 14GB-to-30GB range as reported, not confirmed, and use your own before-and-after numbers as the only figures you can trust for your specific machine.

Apple's iOS 26 and iPadOS 26 updates are packed with new features, and you can try them before almost everyone else. First, check our list of supported iPhone and iPad models, then follow our step-by-step guide to install the iOS/iPadOS 26 beta — no paid developer account required.

Sponsored

Related Articles

Comments

No Comments Exist

Be the first, drop a comment!